Pepper Spray Laws and Restrictions
These are ones we are aware of. However, we do not guarantee that they are up to date. Ultimately, it's your responsibility to ascertain the legality in your area.
States Where Pepper Sprays are Restricted.
(We cannot ship to these states. If an order is placed your order will be canceled)
New York: New York residents may only purchase defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers or licensed Pharmacists in that state.
Massachusetts: Massachusetts residents may only purchase defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers in that state.
States Where Pepper Sprays Have Some Restrictions
Michigan: OC Pepper spray can be no stronger then a 2% concentrate (Different companies can sell different concentrations.) CS is the only Tear Gas accepted and can be no larger then 35 grams per can. No combination spray allowed.
View Michigan approved pepper sprays.
Wisconsin: Pepper only. No Tear gas, UV Dye or combination sprays. OC can be no stronger then a 10% solution. Can must be between 15-60 grams only. Must have safety feature.
(Sorry, all our pepper sprays contain either tear gas or UV dye. We cannot ship orders to Wisconsin)
Using Pepper Spray in California
What is the pepper spray law in California? Misuse of tear gas in California comes with state penalties of up to a $1000 fine and/or up to three years in prison, not to mention a possible felony conviction on record. Examples of misuse include using tear gas on people in anger, spraying it as a joke, or possession of tear gas by prohibited persons. Minors, drug addicts or persons convicted of felonies, assault or misuse of tear gas are legally prohibited from possessing tear gas, although there are few barriers to procurement of tear gas by these people. To be legally purchased, possessed or used in California, any canister must have a label that says "WARNING: The use of this substance or device for any purpose other than self-defense is a crime under the law. The contents are dangerous--use with care." The maximum legal net weight for a canister is 2.5 ounces, or 70 grams of OC.
NOTE: Pepper Spray is legal in all 50 states, however a number of cities and states have restrictions on sizes, strengths, etc.. If you have a question, it is wise to check with your local city or state attorney's office. Defense sprays should only be purchased by those 18 years of age or older. The above list may not be totally accurate or complete and Harrisburg Safe & Vault accepts no responsibility for its accuracy or completeness.
More Pepper Spray Infromation